Summerside Capitals Named 2021-22 Roger Meek Executive of the Year


Truro, N.S. (June 17, 2022) – The Maritime Junior Hockey League (MHL) is pleased to announce that the Summerside Western Capitals have been named the Roger Meek Executive of the Year for the 2021-22 season. The team won the Canadian Tire Cup in May, defeating the Truro Bearcats in five games for their fifth league title and first since the 2012-13 season.

Summerside finished the regular season atop the Eastlink North Division with a record of 31-4-1-2, scoring a league-best 206 goals. The team also won the Young/Knickle Award for allowing the fewest goals per game in the MHL at 2.66 and 101 in total. Year-over-year, the Western Capitals improved from a .652 point percentage in 2020-21 to an .855 mark in 2021-22.

The team was consistently ranked in the top five of the Canadian Junior Hockey League’s (CJHL) Weekly Top 20 rankings throughout the year, peaking at #2 for nine straight weeks. The Western Capitals won the league title by defeating Edmundston in five games in the first round and sweeping Fredericton in the Eastlink North Final before downing Truro for the Canadian Tire Cup.

General Manager Pat MacIver remained busy throughout the season with eight trades, including three in the week before the trade deadline. Key pieces brought into the fold included playoff scoring champion Aaron Brown from Valley, who finished fifth in regular season scoring, Eastlink North All-Star goaltender Félix-Anthony Éthier from Truro, who led the playoffs in goals against average, and Jacob Stewart from Pictou County, who was tied for second in playoff scoring.

Media Contact:
James Faulkner
Director of Communications
Maritime Hockey League